Jumpindex

Discussion in 'Halo and Forge Discussion' started by Buddy Jumps, Sep 3, 2016.

1. Buddy Jumps

Buddy Jumps Jumpmaster

Alright, so I want to list all kinds of jumping techniques just to get them out of my head onto something I can come back to. If you're not interested in this topic, I'm ok with that.
    In these lists I'm not going to include additional Halo 5 gadgets like hovering or clambering, since they're bullshit and have nothing to do on a jumping map.
    The jumping techniques listed below are fully supported in Halo Reach, Halo 4 and Halo 5: Guardians, while Halo 1-3 and Halo 2: Anniversary can't support all of them. Some might sound weird and long to you, but that's how it is, jumping in Halo is a science of its own, believe it or not.

I've been jumping since Halo 3 (2009), spring jumping since Halo Reach (2010) and overally have been thinking and talking a lot about jumps and how they should be called throughout the years. My jumping skill level has been very high since 2011, beating the most difficult maps I could find. I'm still learning, it's an ongoing process, there are always new aspects coming at me, it never gets old.
    Without further ado, let's start. Going roughly from lowest distance and height to maximum.

Formula:

Name of the jump : Button combo --- Additional information

^^ means, the last two buttons/actions need to be pressed at almost the exact same time

JUMPING TECHNIQUES

Sprint disabled:

<> Short Jump : Jump + Crouch^^ --- The lowest possible jump
    <>
    <> Short Crouch Jump : Short Jump + Crouch --- Crouching right before landing allows more height than a short jump
    <>

<> Momentum Short Jump : Walk + Jump + Short Jump --- Momentum of the previous jump allows more distance
    <>

<> Momentum Short Crouch Jump : Walk + Jump + Short Crouch Jump --- Farthest+lowest jump possible without sprinting
    <>
    <> Crouched Jump : Crouch + Jump --- The jump everyone thinks to be the lowest jump
    <>