Separate names with a comma.

More...


  1. The website has been updated. While this is a major step please keep in mind that there will be more updates rolling out. If you have any questions or comments please post them HERE

Battle Tracks

Discussion in 'Reach Gametypes' started by x DREAM 76 x, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. x DREAM 76 x

    x DREAM 76 x New World Man Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,102
    #1
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2012
  2. chung_wii

    chung_wii Halo 3 Era Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Requesting thread to be Pinned. Thanks for the post btw. Hoping to post Galvanized (my new BT track soon as well.)
     
    #2
  3. AceOfSpades

    AceOfSpades Halo 3 Era Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,646
    So wait, you can't use these on racetracks with multiple checkpoints? Is that what I'm understanding?
     
    #3
  4. x DREAM 76 x

    x DREAM 76 x New World Man Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,102
    Thanks for the question. Here is a set up tutorial that smm2010 has created to help members get the most out of their Battle Track!



    Battle Tracks Tutorial







    .
     
    #4
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
  5. M0aHerder

    M0aHerder New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    How did you edit the rocket race gametype?
     
    #5
  6. x DREAM 76 x

    x DREAM 76 x New World Man Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,102
    Go to game options. Once you set game settings the way you like, hit X and save game variant "AS".
     
    #6
  7. M0aHerder

    M0aHerder New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    I know that, but rocket race isn't in the custom games gametypes.

    EDIT: Nevermind, I found it on their website.
     
    #7
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  8. AceOfSpades

    AceOfSpades Halo 3 Era Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,646
    Was there any way to make it so that you can play both default race and Battletracks on the same track by making it so that Battletracks uses multiple checkpoints. I, being a racetrack maker, would find it annoying to have to make two separate versions; one version for everyone who is aware of Battletracks, and one for everyone who isn't. Not everyone who downloads maps is a part of a forge forum to be aware that Battletracks is different than Race.

    I don't see why you couldn't use multiple checkpoints either. Killing someone would just make it so you can catch up to them, not just to prevent them from getting to the end of the lap.
     
    #8
  9. x DREAM 76 x

    x DREAM 76 x New World Man Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,102
    Take a look at Deep Atlantis. The track is set up for both Race & Battle Tracks. You can just set the shield doors to "Not Spawn" when using the race game type, and have them appear when you switch to the Battle Tracks games if you want. Battle Tracks has to have two goals placed directly on top of each other in order for the game to work properly. As long as your track is un-cheatable, setting up the BT goal system only takes a few minutes.

    Race is FFA only. Teams cannot be enabled, I am surprised that you don't already realize this. Rocket Race is the only way to have teams. It's Bungies fault for removing VIP. You can add it to the list of mistakes that Bungie made in Reach. This was the only way that we could bring back BT, in some form or another..
     
    #9
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2011
  10. AceOfSpades

    AceOfSpades Halo 3 Era Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,646
    Oh, wow, it completely missed my mind that the base gametype for Battle Tracks is Rocket Race.

    Okay, disregard what I said then. ;)
     
    #10
  11. x DREAM 76 x

    x DREAM 76 x New World Man Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,102
    BT games updated on 2/4/11.
     
    #11
  12. IC Entropy

    IC Entropy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Is it possible to make Battle Tracks with multiple checkpoints (similar to race)? I love the gametype, but sometimes it seems overly penalizing to have a team start over completely if they fall off or get killed near the end of their lap.

    Also, is there a Battle Tracks group for Reach? I haven't had any luck finding one via google.
     
    #12
  13. ShaddoBlade

    ShaddoBlade Fuzzy Little Man Peach Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,223
    No, that would make too much sense. Instead we have to use a gametype worse than VIP and still cheatproof everything like in H3. Thanks, Bungie.
     
    #13
  14. Savage Tracks

    Savage Tracks New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    The fact that Bungie took out VIP and left us a Race game type that you cannot enable teams is a joke. We did the best we could to bring back BT for Reach. It is not perfect, but at least it's close. Let's hope that 343 does the right thing and brings back VIP or just makes a core Battle Tracks game variant.
     
    #14
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  15. x DREAM 76 x

    x DREAM 76 x New World Man Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,102
    We should all start a petition to bring back VIP for Halo 4. Everyone misses the original BT. A lot of people miss Asset as well. We need to somehow contact 343 and let them know a lot of the community wants VIP back. Does anyone else feel the same way and how can we let them know? Thanks.
     
    #15

Share This Page